"Yellowstone seems to the geologists like a smoky gun which reminds us how violent the earth can be. One event over shadows all other:
A whole landscape exploded in the middle of the present park about 600,000 years ago. ...
In a few minutes the land was devastated ... a smoky caldera were the only thing in the middle, a caved in crater with a area of 45 x 75 kilometers. ... countless boiling springs, fumaroles and geysers are a sign for possible future eruptions.
... the importance of Yellowstone for a wild animal reservation has grown since the settlement of the west was finished. The list of animals is like an encyclopedia of the fauna of the Rocky Mountains: elk, bison, muldeer, moose, pronghorn, coyote, cougar, beaver, swan, eagle, boldeagle, white pelican and many more." (2)
Unfortunately most of the white Americans do not realize that in their nationalpark number one Native Americans had lived long before the New World was discovered. Prehistoric findings like arrowpoints and old campsites let suppose that the area was settled about 11,000 years ago.
Native Americans also lived here during conquest of the west. Many tribes crossed the ground in hope of hunting success.
One tribe of Shoshone made this land their native country. They prefered a nomadic life and roved through the Yellowstone region on foot before horses were known.They hunted bighorn sheep and fished in the Snake-, Madison- and Yellowstone River. They lived here till 1871 in small groups.
Finally they shared the most Natives' lot: displace by force to Shoshone Wind River Reservation.


Old Faithfull in action
Sunrise over Lower Falls
Panorama of the Yellowstone River


bigimage 83K bigimage 103K bigimage 63K
bigimage 97K bigimage 54K bigimage 104K
You can enlarge all pictures by clicking on them!

"Yellowstone erscheint den Geologen wie ein rauchendes Gewehr, das uns daran erinnert, wie gewalttätig die Erde sein kann. Ein Ereignis überschattet alle anderen:
Vor etwa 600.000 Jahren explodierte eine ganze Landschaft in der Mitte des heutigen Parks. ...
Binnen Minuten war das Land verwüstet ... In der Mitte blieb nur eine schwelende Caldera übrig, ein zusammengebrochener Krater von 45 x 75 Kilometer Grundfläche. ... Heute lassen zahllose kochendheiße Quellen, Fumarolen und Geysire ahnen, daß durchaus noch weitere Eruptionen folgen können.
...als der Westen besiedelt war, wuchs die Bedeutung von Yellowstone als Wildreservat. Die Liste der Tierarten im Park ist ein Kompendium der Fauna der Rocky Mountains: Wapiti, Bison, Maultierhirsch, Dickhornschaf, Grizzly und Schwarzbär, Elch, Gabelantilope, Coyote, Puma, Biber, Trompeterschwan, Adler, Fischadler, Weißer Pelikan und andere sind zu nennen." (2)
Leider ist den meisten weißen Amerikanern nicht bewußt, daß in "ihrem Nationalpark Nummer Eins" bereits lange vor der Entdeckung der Neuen Welt Native Americans lebten. Prähistorische Funde von Pfeilspitzen sowie alter Lagerplätze, lassen vermuten, daß dieses Gebiet bereits vor 11.000 Jahren besiedelt war.
Auch in der Zeit der Eroberung des Westens lebten hier Indianer. Viele Stämme durchstreiften dieses Gebiet mit der Hoffnung auf Jagderfolge.
Ein Stamm der Shoshone, die Sheepeater, machte die Region zu ihrer Heimat. Sie bevorzugten ein Nomadenleben und vor der Verbreitung des Pferdes durchstreiften sie das Yellowstonegebiet zu Fuß. Als wesentlichen Bestandteil ihrer Nahrung jagten sie die Dickhornschafe, fischten in den Gewässern der Snake-, Madison- und Yellowstoneriver. In kleinen Gruppen lebten sie bis ca. 1871 hier.
Schließlich mußten sie das Los fast aller Indianer teil. Sie wurden in die Shoshone Wind River Reservation zwangsumgesiedelt.


Old Faithfull in action
Sunrise over Lower Falls
Panorama of the Yellowstone River


bigimage 83K bigimage 103K bigimage 63K
bigimage 97K bigimage 54K bigimage 104K
You can enlarge all pictures by clicking on them!